top of page

Method to the Madness

This entire adventure started with trying to feed my kids "on the go" for those busy days. Not every meal has to be eaten in the car or on the fly. A lot of the time its not a new recipe, it is just a new method. Here are a few ideas for serving what you already make in a "on the road" way:

Sandwich on a Stick.

You might think...well sandwiches are already portable Danyel, why take the time to put them on a stick? A couple reason...It's fun. My kids like all food on a stick. They like to help make it, they seem to eat more of the healthy things on the said stick, and you can taylor make it to what you know your kids WILL eat.

In this picture I used mini pita breads cut into small pieces, 3 cheese singles layered on top of one another and cut into squares, lunch meat and lettuce. You need to strategically place the meat away from the bread. The bread will soak up the moisture in the meat and make the bread soggy. So if you notice I made sure the cheese and lettuce where next to the bread. I did not put any condiments on the bread, but you could easily put a tiny bit of mayo, or mustard on there.

Cheese Tortellini and Meatball On a Stick

These are great for those late night practices. I cook dinner at home for who ever is actually there and then I can take some and throw them on the skewers before I go and pick up from practice. To transport you can put them in some tupperware wrapped in foil or put 3 or 4 in those insulated coffee cups and put them in the cup holder in the van.

For these I used frozen meatball. I have an amazing meatball recipe that has been passed down from my Grandmother, but it's not really a week night quick recipe. Also, if you do make your own make sure to make them "tight", because if not they will crumble when you put them on the skewer. I personally have no shame in using the frozen ones with the crazy schedule we keep. To cook them I put a bag in a skillet with a cup of marinara sauce and 1/4 cup of water. Put the lid on over medium heat and cook them through, around 10 minutes. I cooked the Cheese Tortellini according to the package instructions and chopped the mozzarella into chunks. I had the boy go and pick some basil off our plant outside and just assembled them.


Danyel's
COOKING TIPS

#1 

Make the food that your kids already like.

 

#2

Find a new way to serve it in a way that is portable.

 

#3

Enjoy not having to stop at the drive thru on those busy nights!

bottom of page